The Entrepreneurial Joy of Christmas

As I am reflecting on life this Christmas morning, I have a few thoughts I believe other entrepreneurs would appreciate. I am going to address these thoughts by answering 2 questions.

  1. What is it in your entrepreneurial journey you are chasing?
  2. What are the reasons behind that pursuit?

While these are very vague questions, they are ones that will cause you to deeply reflect. Being an entrepreneur requires many sacrifices that the average person can not and will not make. We, entrepreneurs, are built this way and are destined for greatness because of these sacrifices we are willing to make.

This Christmas morning, I had the opportunity to enjoy preparing a meal with my wife while my 2 daughters played in the living room. Throughout the duration of making breakfast, my wife and I had laughs, conversations and we even burnt food so bad we had to put it outside because of the smell and smoke (well, maybe I was the one who burnt it. Oops.)

Why am I telling you this?

What I realized in this moment, is that my family is the reason for everything that I chase in my entrepreneurial life. Every time I do something note worthy in business, I always want to run and tell my wife as well as go hug my kids. I am like a little kid who wants his mom to hang his A+ on the refrigerator.

Reflecting on this made me smile and allowed me to hit a level of inspiration that I haven’t for a while.

Our breakfast endeavors were proceeded by laying the kids down for a nap, and me playing piano for my wife as she fell asleep on the couch. These are the type of moments that are hard to put into words, but are so dear to our hearts as human beings. While I may not be able to verbally express the feelings that derive from these moments, I know others can relate.

My encouragement to all entrepreneurs this Christmas morning, is to take time to let your mind rest and begin to soak in the joy of Christmas while enjoying your family. Motivation is very key in our business journey, and there is no better place to draw that motivation from, than the very reason you do business…your family.

I want to end with this funny but true quote:

“People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing. That’s why we recommend it daily.” –Zig Ziglar

What are you thinking? C'mon just tell us :-)

