4 Reasons Trusting Others Improves Your Life

Relying on individuals, besides yourself, can be a difficult road to travel, whether that is personally or in business. I’ve discovered that building trust is a continual venture most people ignore, despite how crucial it is to our growth as humans.

We tend to develop our preconceived notions of the average person derived from our past experiences. Through let downs, misunderstandings, arguments, etc., we quickly build up an intolerance for others ‘ignorance,’ and this can greatly affect our growth in life.

Ever since I’ve decided to start trusting others in my personal and business life, the growth I have experienced has been astronomical. I want to share with you 4 ways that putting trust in others can also help you grow.

1. Trust Increases Your Circle of Influence

Trust is a relationship that acts as a two way street.

You have one person that extends the trust and the other who receives the trust. The person who extends the trust is taking a risk, while the one who receives the trust has to be a good steward of that trust. When you extend trust to someone, you are showing them honor and respect.

Trust is a communication of belief.

When you believe in another person, it gives them a sense of accomplishment. It is a common misconception among leaders that if you extend trust, you will be taken advantage of and walked over like a door mat; most leaders believe they have to be sticklers and controllers in order to get things done. The exact opposite is true. In order to get things done, you have to loosen the reigns and allow the other person to make decisions and act as their own person. This holds true for any type of relationship: marriage, kids, siblings, bosses, co-workers, etc.

John Maxwell talks about trust in his book, “The 5 levels of Leadership.” Extending trust puts you on a new level of leadership that allows you to grow one step closer to reproducing individuals who also lead by extending trust.

2. Trust Reduces Worry, Fear and Stress

Not trusting someone takes 10 times the effort of extending trust. When you do not trust someone, you make consistent efforts to avoid interaction and communication all together; when avoiding these things are impossible, you make sure that you are always looking over their shoulder.

This is extremely draining.

Trusting others allows you to lift this burden from your shoulders and enjoy life, while you focus on the things that you know and love. I practice trusting others, specifically, in my business day in and day out. When I started my first business, I was very much the type of person that I explained in the beginning of this section. Very rarely did I trust others with tasks, assignments, production etc., and when I did, I made sure that I was breathing down their neck the entire time to ‘insure quality.’

This hurt my business a lot.

I was waking up at 3 o’clock every morning and working 12-14 hour days just to get things done, because I didn’t trust any one else to do so. I was stressed, tired and quite angry. My business was and is my baby. The truth was, essentially, I did not want anyone else to ‘hold’ my baby.

It took me several months before I realized that I was running my efforts dry. Regardless of how hard I worked, I was not growing as fast as I wanted to and I was ready to throw in the towel. At that moment, I had several long discussions with my business partner and employees. I apologized for my lack of trust and we made specific efforts to change these aspects of the business.

This worked so well, in fact, that my first business immediately took off and allowed us enough breathing room to start our second venture.

Now, I currently run 2 businesses.

I get to work and collaborate with employees and clients across the globe. I practice putting trust in people every day and relying on them to do what they love to do. The best part about it is, 99% of the time, I am stress free and worry free.

3. Trust Produces Character and Integrity

I am a huge believer in character and integrity. I constantly evaluate my own life and both businesses for areas that I can improve the overall character and integrity within those structures. It quickly came to my attention that trusting people greatly improved my character and integrity, and I will tell you why.

When you don’t trust others, you are actually outwardly expressing what you feel and think on the inside. 9 times out of 10, that distrust comes from your own lack of trust in yourself. You tend to subconsciously think, “If I can’t trust myself, how will I trust others.” This is a downward spiral that I would not wish on my worst enemy.

Believing and trusting in yourself builds character and allows you to operate all aspects of your life with integrity. You have to allow grace in your own life when you make mistakes and extend grace in others lives when they make mistakes. Building trust is always going to be a risk, and that risk isn’t possible without grace.

4. Trust Improves Your Communication

Most people understand that communication is the key to any relationship. Furthermore, every businessman and/or entrepreneur also knows that communication can be a billion dollar thief. Trust is not possible without good communication; therefore, if you practice trust, you are practicing communication. And if you are practicing communication, all of your relationships benefit.

Conclusion

To this day, I still find my self not extending trust to others from time to time. Because I am aware that trust is important to me, I usually catch myself immediately and change my mindset.

Trust doesn’t just happen.

If you are ever in a situation where you start feeling that you can not trust someone, you need to immediately evaluate where those thoughts are coming from. If those thoughts are truly coming from the fact that the other person is not trustworthy, that is fine. However, if those thoughts are because you do not want to show trust, or do not know how, then you need to make a conscious decision to make that change in your life.

You have nothing to loose and everything to gain!

Tell me in the comments below how trust has grown your personal life and/or business life.

What are you thinking? C'mon just tell us :-)

